About Profile

A University for Luxembourg and the world

A group of students on campus

The University of Luxembourg is an international research university with a distinctly multilingual and interdisciplinary character.

At a glance

The University of Luxembourg was founded in 2003 and is the only public university in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

With more than 7,000 students and approximately 2,400 employees from around the world, our University provides a truly cosmopolitan learning experience. 60% of students are international students, and the majority of staff members and academics have an international background. Our strategic development areas are digital transformation, medicine and health, and sustainable and societal development.

Our students can choose between 18 Bachelor degrees and 46 Master degrees, as well as several vocational training and lifelong learning courses. Programmes are generally taught in two languages (French/English or French/German), some in three languages and some entirely in English, in particular at the Master level. All our Bachelor students spend one mandatory semester abroad.

The Times Higher Education ranks the University of Luxembourg 4th worldwide for international outlook, 25th in the Young University Ranking 2022 and among the top 250 universities worldwide. The University has both local and global impact and is a driving force in a country well on its way to becoming a leading knowledge-based society.

Key facts

  • 3 faculties
    4 interdisciplinary centres

  • 7,000 students (Bachelor, Master, PhD)

  • 1,000 continuing education students

  • 300 professors

  • 4th worldwide for international outlook

  • 25th in THE Young University Ranking 2022


The University of Luxembourg was founded in 2003 in connection with Luxembourg’s overall strategy to position itself as a knowledge society. However, the history of the University’s predecessor institutions goes back more than a hundred years, in particular in engineering. Four existing institutions were integrated into the University of Luxembourg when it was founded:

  • the Centre Universitaire de Luxembourg,
  • the Institut Supérieur de Technologie (IST),
  • the Institut Supérieur d’Études et de Recherches Pédagogiques (ISERP)
  • the Institut d’Études Éducatives et Sociales (IEES)