Comité d’éthique pour l’expérimentation animale (AEEC)

The Animal Experimentation Ethics Committee is involved in drawing up the research policy on animal experimentation which is adopted by the Board of Governors. It examines and delivers an opinion on projects that use animals for scientific purposes. The AEEC must ensure that the use of animals for research and teaching at the University is compliant with the amended Grand-Ducal Regulation of 11 January 2013 on the protection of animals used for scientific purposes and the Act of 27 June 2018 on the protection of animals. The species concerned are those cited in the afore-mentioned Grand-Ducal Regulation, namely vertebrate animals and cephalopods.

For any planned experimentation, the AEEC ensures that the use of animals is justified, that their well-being is guaranteed and that the principles of replacement, reduction and refinement (the “3 Rs”) are applied.

To this end, the AEEC delivers an opinion on any projects carried out at the University involving the use of animals for experimental or other scientific purposes.

Contact for the transmission of the applications:

  • Elisabeth Letellier, FSTC-UNI​ (Chair; Category B)
  • Djalil Coowar, LCSB-UNI (Vice Chair & Category D)
  • Jennifer Behm, Veterinarian UNI (Category A)
  • Tony Heurtaux, FSTC-UNI (Category B)
  • Maria Angeliki Pavlou, FSTM (Category B)
  • Anthoula Gaigneaux, FSTC-UNI (Category B)​
  • Paula Souza, FSTC-UNI (Category C)​
  • Véronique Briche​​, LCSB-UNI (Category C)
  • Maria Lorena Cordero Maldonado, LCSB-UNI (Daily Care)
  • Jochen Schneider, LCSB-UNI (Category B)

Secretary: Katja Kümpel

The AEEC meets every month. Please find below the dates of the committee meeting:

  • 25 January 2023 /
  • 22 February 2023 deadline for submissions: 2 February, noon
  • 22 March 2023 deadline for submissions: 2 March, noon
  • 26 April 2023 deadline for submissions: 6 April, noon
  • 24 May 2023 deadline for submissions: 4 May, noon
  • 28 June 2023 deadline for submissions: 1 June, noon
  • 26 July 2023 deadline for submissions: 6 July, noon
  • 23 August 2023 deadline for submissions: 3 August, noon
  • 27 September 2023 deadline for submissions: 7 September, noon
  • 25 October 2023 deadline for submissions: 5 October, noon
  • 22 November 2023 deadline for submissions: 9 November, noon
  • 20 December 2023 deadline for submissions: 30 December, noon